DVD review DEVIN TOWNSEND POJECT ‘Ocean Machine – Live at the Ancient Roman Theatre Plovdiv’

(9/10) The Ancient Roman Theatre in Plovdiv seems to become more and more a venue for recordings of live shows. Steve Rothery and his band played there as well as Paradise Lost that recorded a show in Plovdiv, Bulgaria. The Ancient Roman Theatre provides a great stage set which makes things a bit different compared to regular venues.

This time it is Canadian guitar wizard Devin Townsend who performed in Polvdiv a special set. Almost three hours long, the show consisted out of two parts. Both have been recorded and will be released beginning of July in different formats.

The concert took place on September 22nd, 2017 and the first part of this show features a setlist that was build on fan-request. Supported by the Orchestra and Choir of Plovdiv State Opera, Devin Townsend classics like ‘Bad Devil’ and ‘Stormbending’ become even denser and more bombastic. The setlist also includes treats like e.g. ‘Om’, taken from the Christeen’ EP, which was released in 1998. The songs has been performed for the first time live and sounds awesome.

The second half of this special performance is build around the main reason of this event. The legendary ‘Ocean Machine’ album celebrates its 20th anniversary and therefor the Canadian guitarist used the opportunity to present the entire album to fans in a live setup. The album was played in chronological order and reflects some of the best songs Devin Townsend ever released.

Furthermore ‘Ocean Machine Live’ comes with a terrific sound and also the visual impression is outstanding. Various cameras provide different angles and impressions of this impressive show. ‘Blue’ is the dominant stage light color, supported by a well-accented light show that let the Ancient Roman Theatre shine, adding to a complete package you get with this release.

The extra that comes with the DVD/BluRay is a 30 minutes documentary entitled ‘Reflecting the Chaos’ which includes a funny TV show appearance, behind the scene material, Townsend talking about the show and some more. 

This DVD is great release, featuring an unique show at a special venue with songs that belong to some of the most creative ones in metal.





By Request Set with Orchestra

  1. Truth
  2. Stormbending
  3. Om
  4. Failure
  5. By Your Command
  6. Gaia
  7. Deadhead
  8. Bad Devil
  9. Higher
  10. A Simple Lullaby
  11. Deep Peace

Ocean Machine

  1. Seventh Wave
  2. Life
  3. Night
  4. Hide Nowhere
  5. Sister
  6. 3 A.M.
  7. Voices in the Fan
  8. Greetings
  9. Regulator
  10. Funeral
  11. Bastard
  12. The Death of Music
  13. Truth


Label: InsideOut Music

Genre: Prog Metal

Release Date EU: July 6th, 2018


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: