CD review THE NIGHT FLIGHT ORCHESTRA ‘Sometimes the World Ain’t Enough’

(8/10) Twelve months after having released the groundbreaking ‘Amber Galactic’ it’s album number four of shooting star The Night Flight Orchestra that will be a delight for fans of melodic rock music.

What started as a more or less spontaneous idea 12 years ago on endless American highways evolved to one of the most inspiring AOR/classic rock bands in the here and now. The Night Flight Orchestra could score already some first wins with the first two longplayers and it was the decisive third record that acted as an enormous boost for the Swedish outfit. ‘Amber Galactic’, the first album that came via Nuclear Blast, was and is a great delivery that comprises of hits only. 

After having been on tour for some shows in late 2017 the sextet returned to the studio for working on their next longplayer. End of June is the moment truth when fans of well-crafted rock music can welcome ‘Sometimes the World Ain’t Enough’. I can tell you already that the guys pick it up right where they left with ‘Amber Galactic’. 

Twelve new songs contain everything you want to get offered by The Night Flight Orchestra. Big melodies are present all over the place and the fact that they are combined with rocking guitars makes this longplayer to a great soundtrack for the upcoming summer. It’s hard to pick out some tracks, but I will give it a try. Songs you should check out are the ‘Turn to Miami’ with it’s retro disco-rock expression, the AOR-like title track and the bombastic ‘Barcelona’.  All these songs lead towards ‘The Last of the Independent Romantics’; the closer of this exquisite longplayer. ‘The Last of the Independent Romantics’ is the by far longest track on the album. More than 9 minutes stand for a Grande Finale that couldn’t be more bombastic than what you get with this epos. The tune is a rocking fireworks that combines everything The Night Flight Orchestra stands for in one track.

I can recommend this album. The Night Flight Orchestra underlines their position in rock. Over all the years this powerhouse evolved to far more than just a project. These guys are a crucial part of contemporary rock and the new album is a next statement, which will strengthen their position. Good stuff.



  1. This Time
  2. Turn toi Miami
  3. Paralyzed
  4. Sometimes the World Ain’t Enough
  5. Moments of Thunder
  6. Speedwagon
  7. Lovers in the Rain
  8. Can’t Be That Bad
  9. Pretty Thing Closing In
  10. Barcelona
  11. Winged and Serpentine
  12. The Last of the Independent Romantics

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: June 29th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: