CD review Amanda Somerville’s TRILLIUM ‘Tectonic’

(8/10) Amanda Somerville is a well-known name when it comes to female-fronted rock and metal music. The American singer worked together with Kamelot, Avantasia and Epica. Next to these cooperations Somerville and Helloween’s Michael Kiske released some excellently done records with the moniker of Kiske/Somerville. So, you should have heard the great singer already earlier in time.

This time Amanda Somerville unveils with ‘Tectonic’ an album that was done as Amanda Somerville’s Trillium. Seven years after ‘Alloy’ hit the shelfs it’s the sophomore album that brings back this rock project with new songs and a lot of energy.

Somerville and Sander Gommans, that’s not only in private a couple. The two musicians are also the main drivers of this longplayer. The both of them wrote ten new songs that ended up on ‘Tectonic’, featuring finest melodic metal from beginning to end.

The centerpiece of the record is Somerville’s excellent vocals. It’s the wide range of Somerville’s voice that gives the album the extra that’s needed these days to stand out from similar releases. Furthermore the songwriting is another important asset to mention. Each of the tracks is highly entertaining and isn’t built on a cookie-cutter approach. There’s the slower and dark ‘Nocturna’, the more modern sounding ‘Fighting Fate’ and catchy opener “Time to Shine’. ‘Shards’ adds some more bombastic features to the mix and it’s the closer ‘Eternal Spring’ that ends the album in a cinematic way.

To sum up: ‘Tectonic’ is an excellent album that will find a lot of fans and supporters. If you like female-fronted metal music than you need to check out this release. It’s good stuff for ears and mind.





  1. Time to Shine
  2. Stand Up
  3. Full Speed Ahead
  4. Hit Me
  5. Fighting Fate
  6. Nocturna
  7. Fatal Mistake
  8. Shards
  9. Cliché Freak Show
  10. Eternal Spring


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: June 8th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑