CD review SUBSIGNAL ‘La Muerte’

(8/10) Subsignal allowed themselves two years of time to work on their next delivery. Work has been finished and the next longplayer is supposed to hit the shelfs end of May this year.

“La Muerte” is release number five of a band that belongs to the spearhead of German progressive rock music. The band, that was formed as a side project by Arno Menses and Markus Steffen, turned into a band after the main band at that time, Siege Even disbanded.

The new longplayer is also the band’s first record for their new label Gentle Art Of Music. “La Muerte” takes the listener on a journey that’s exciting and complex in one. However, compared to the earlier releases the album is a bit easier to approach. I don’t want to say that “La Muerte” is catchier, but the awesome melodies makes it easier for the listener to get into the songs and music. What continues though is a sound that’s build on a layered setup and an atmospheric expression that comes with each of the eleven songs that made it on the tracklist.

“La Muerte” sounds spot-on and tight. The continuity in the line-up is one of the main factors that leads to a density that benefits the sound a lot. Subsignal is a team rather than a group skilled musical egos and it’s this common approach that makes tunes like the big title track or the gently rocking “Stars Don’ Shine” to special songs. ‘La Muerte’ combines the layered approach of progressive music with the melodic catchiness of AOR. and by doing this the tunes unveil an own fascinating magic. 

Having listened to “La Muerte” several times leaves a very positive impression in my mind. Progressive rock music can be complex and experimental, but this genre can also reveal melodic beauty while focusing on the songs by using all musical skills and experiments as a contribution to the total. Subsignal decided to go for the latter and they do it in a really good fashion, leading to a great longplayer. Good stuff.





  1. 271 Days
  2. La Muerta
  3. The Bells of Lyonesse
  4. Every Able Hand
  5. Teardrops Will Dry In Source of Origin
  6. The Approaches
  7. Even Though the Stars Don’t Shine
  8. The Passage
  9. When All the Trains Are Sleeping
  10. As Birds On Pinions Free
  11. Some Kind Of Drowning


Label: Gentle Art Of Music

Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: May 25th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑