CD review KATAKLYSM ‘Meditations’

(9/10) Canadian death metallers Kataklysm finished work on their next studio album entitled ‘Meditations’. The title of this album led to a smile because the album is definitely no soundtrack for meditation. So, if you were worried about what this chosen name means for the band’s music I can comfort you – things are as they have been when it comes to death metal played by the Canadian four-piece. ‘Meditations’ is as heavy as the earlier records and is a blast when it comes to songs and sound.

The new record, which follows the 2015 release ‘Of Ghosts and Gods’, provides ten new songs that show a continuation of the bands direction towards a more melodic interpretation of extreme metal. Of course the guys are far away from catchy music. Heaviness and aggressiveness are still fundamental elements of Kataklysm’s sound. The spot-on songs do not allow for anything different and a running time of 38 minutes unfolds an intention of being spot-on. The band boils down their music to the essence by removing all unnecessary decoration.

“Guillotine” is the mighty opener that doesn’t take any prisoners. The uptempo track doesn’t even reach three minutes of length, but unveils an impressive power in no time. The following ‘Outsider’ is kept a bit slower and the same goes for ‘Narcissist’. Both songs are convincing by the weaved-in groove rather that furious leads. I was partly reminded of bands like the earlier Sepultura, esp. when it comes to ‘Narcissist’.

‘Meditations’ also includes one song that breaks the pattern of 2-4 minutes tracks. The closer ‘Achilles’ Heel’ is has a bit more of an epical approach, rolled out over 5+ minutes. The tune starts melodic and instrumental before it gains in power along the way. I had to think about Amon Amarth when I listened to the track for the first time, which might give you an idea of what to expect. The tune is well-balanced when it comes to calmer sections, melodic parts and uptempo moments. However, it’s again a solid groove and a strong expression that makes the track to a highlight on Kataklysm’s 13th studio album.

‘Mediations’ became an impressive album that showcases the band’s quality, gained over more than 25 years in business. And even after more than 2 ½ decades in metal these Canadian guys are still hungry for metal and that what’s manifested on ‘Meditations’





  1. Breaching The Asylum
  2. The Black Sheep
  3. Marching Through Graveyards
  4. Thy Serpent’s Tongue
  5. Vindication
  6. Soul Destroyer
  7. Carrying Crosses
  8. Shattered
  9. Hate Spirit
  10. The World Is A Dying Insect


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release Date EU: June 1st, 2018


Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑