CD review GRUESOME ‘Twisted Prayers’

(8/10) If there is one band that seriously carries-on the heritage of death metal legend Death it‘s Gruesome. The band, founded by axeman Matt Harvey and drummer Gus Rios, with both being involved in the Death To All touring activity, debut in 2015 with a raw and brutal debut entitled „Savage Land“. Two EP‘s followed and it‘s the sophomore longplayer „Twisted Prayers“ that shows some progress in Gruesome‘s metal adventure.

As the band‘s idol also Gruesome shifted their death metal towards a more melodic and complex sound. Not to be misunderstood, we‘re still talking about ruthless metal with gutural growls, blistering riff assaults and a merciless rhythmsection. Still, compared to „Savage Land“ things evolved by adding more structure to the song by maintining a brutal sound.

Gruesome‘s second delivery showcases a passionate death metal outfit that translates oldschool death metal into the here and now. The four-piece band has the musical skills to do that in a terrific fashion, making „Twisted Prayers“ to a great new delivery. To complete the package it is no less than Ed Repka that also contributed again with an excellent artwork. „Twisted Prayers“ is a great album that ‘growls’ for your attention.





  1. Inhuman
  2. A Waste of Life
  3. Fate
  4. Lethal Legacy
  5. Fatal Illusions
  6. Crusade of Brutality
  7. At Death’s Door
  8. Twisted Prayers
  9. The Exorcist (Bonus Track)


Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: June 1st, 2018


Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑