CD review LUNATIC SOUL “Under the Fragmented Sky”


(8/10) Lunatic Soul is the brainchild of multi-instrumentalist Mariusz Duda. The very talented musician is known from his contribution to Riverside, a band he founded together with Piotr Grudziński, Piotr Kozieradzki and Jacek Melnicki. Next to Riverside Duda also works on solo releases.

Duda started Lunatic Soul as a side-project to Riverside in 2008 and the newest longplayer, “Under the Fragmented Sky”, rounds off a first decade of this exciting prog rock  project. The new longplayer is the sixth release by Duda and it comprises of eight new songs that can easily compete with material from earlier releases.

“Under the Fragmented Sky” became another beautiful piece of music that showcases a highly skilled musician at work. The great thing with the album is the fact that Duda uses his talent for creating soundscapes that are as soulful as emotional.

The album is mainly kept in a calmer mood. There aren’t any aggressive or loud outbursts. The record is more of a dark and melancholic one. The atmosphere reminds of the earlier Lunatic Soul releases but is according to Duda also “a supplement to “Fractured”, the latest album by Lunatic Soul as well as it “an artistically independent release”.

“Under the Fragmented Sky” is an experimental album that combines electronic elements with gentle guitars and vocals. These are the main pillars of this longplayer, creating a thrilling journey though sounds and effects.

“Under the Fragmented Sky” is a touching album that unveils its beauty over time. With its cinematic expression Duda manages to create pictures in the listeners mind, which is an art in itself. This record is an impressive one that shows again Duda’s creativity, this time with Lunatic Soul being the outlet.





  1. He av en
  2. Trials
  3. Sorrow
  4. Under the Fragmented Sky
  5. Shadows
  6. Rinsing the Night
  7. The Art of Repairing
  8. Untamed



Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: May 25th, 2018


Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑