CD review NAVARONE ‘Salvo’

(8/10) Navarone is a rock band that’s very well known in their home country, which is The Netherlands. The guys sell-out even the bigger venues in Holland and they now get the chance to open for Bon Jovi at the open air show in Nijmegen. Such an opportunity is a very welcome one since it allows the band to present their new album ‘Salvo’, which will be released end of March this year, to a wider audience,

Navarone is the brainchild of Merijn van Haren (v) and guitarist Kees Lewiszong. What is known as Navarone today started as a project called Overthrow. In the meantime the project become a five-piece band that released a first EP in 2009, which was followed by the debut three years later.

‘Salvo’ is already album number four in Navarone’s discography, showing again why the guys could score successes over the last years. One of the key criteria for their rise is the live shows and the energy connected. Another important factor is the mix of styles they built their songs on. Navarone isn’t a predictable rock band that uses a cookie-cutter approach. The guys merge rock, progressive, grunge, alternative and stoner to an exciting sonic melange that speaks for itself. Combined with a good sense for melodies the quintet recorded songs like ‘Only the Strong Survive’ and the uptempo rocker ‘Surrender’.

Calmer moments are present too. The soulful ‘Fire’ shows the emotional aspect of Navarone. The song is more than just a simple ballad. It’s a touching tune. Navarone shifts gears with ‘Who Are You’, one of the fastest tracks on the album and a real live smasher.

Conclusion: There is a reason that Navarone is successful in The Netherlands and the main reason for it is the great music that comes from this quintet. Although ‘Salvo’ is already their fourth album it might be their breakthrough in Europe. Navarone would certainly deserve it. To all rock’n’rollers, check out this album. You will like it.



  1. The Strong Survive
  2. Reset
  3. Waste
  4. Cerberus
  5. SØReal
  6. Surrender
  7. Fire
  8. Another Way
  9. Mind’s Eye
  10. Who are You?

Label: Suburban Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: March 29th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: