CD review BATTLE BEAST ‘No More Hollywood Endings’

(6/10) ‘100% Heavy Metal – 0% Bullshit’, that’s what the label info sheet starts with. As usually the truth sits somewhere in the middle. Battle Beast’s newest album ‘No More Hollywood Endings’ is certainly not 100% Heavy Metal, which doesn’t per se means that the album is a bummer. The sugar-sweet melodies have a certain level of attractiveness and even the hardest metalheads might not find a way out of this labyrinth of tempting hooks.

The start of the Battle Beast’s 5th album is not a bad one. ‘Unbroken’, the opener, comes with an energetic approach. Melodies are dominant but balanced with some heaviness, which makes the start to a good one. Another good moment comes further down the road. The band is pushing the pedal to the metal with ‘The Golden Horde’, a song that combines speed, screaming guitars and a good melody line to a cool total.

More of these songs would have been great, but there are too many tracks with a sugar-overload. ‘Eden’ is one of them and the pop song ‘Endless Summer’ is another one, the latter being a trivial one without any uniqueness. Furthermore there is ‘I Wish’, which is supposed to be the soulful moment that’s unfortunately not touching at all.

Having said all that, there’s still this sticky sweet jar of melodies you get with this delivery.  ‘No More Hollywood Endings’ is an album has the potential to become the leader in the category ‘I actually can’t resist, but can’t admit it’. It’s like with sugar. Although you’re a big fan of beer and BBQ, you still don’t say ‘no’ to a sugar-sweet desert – and that’s what ‘No More Hollywood Endings’ is in a musical context.



  1. Unbroken
  2. No More Hollywood Endings
  3. Eden
  4. Unfairy Tales
  5. Endless Summer
  6. The Hero
  7. Piece of Me
  8. I Wish
  9. Raise Your Fists
  10. The Golden Horde
  11. World on Fire

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Melodic (Pop) Metal

Release Date EU: March 22nd, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑