CD review ZEBRAHEAD ‘Brain Invaders’

(8/10) US-punk ambassadors Zebrahead had their foundation in the late ’90s and it’s ‘Brain Invaders’ being theirnewest delivery in the here and now. The quintet recorded 14 new songs with the first one being a real musical wrecking ball.

I had to check the CD if it’s right one that went into the player. ‘When Both Sides Suck, We’re All Winners’ is a brutal start into the album and reminds more of modern thrash metal a la Metallica than punk rock. There’s some of the Zebrahead weaved into the track, but it’s certainly a stretch of the comfort zone and it’s a good one.

After such a metallic start, the rest of the album unveils Zebrahead’s trademarks in a great fashion. Melodic punk rock with a pop appeal is what the guys from Orange County are known for and it’s also what their newest longplayer stands for.

What else? ‘We’re Not Alright’ is a straight forward pop-punk anthem and a real energizer. The rap influences are reflected in ‘Chasing the Sun’, a song that also includes a catchy chorus with singalong potential. The cool grooving ‘Up in Smoke’ is a true party cracker while ‘Itchi, Ni, San, Shi’ is another metal-base blast.

‘Brain Invaders’ is an album that’s great fun. Grey days become brighter after having listened to Zebrahead’s new sonic rocket.



  1. When Both Sides Suck, We’re All Winners
  2. I Won’t Let You Down
  3. All My Friends are Nobodies
  4. We’re Not Right
  5. You Don’t Know Anything About Me
  6. Chasing the Sun
  7. Party on th Dancefloor
  8. Do Your Worst
  9. All Doe Young
  10. Up in Smoke
  11. Ichi, Ni, San, Shi
  12. Take a Deep Breath (And Go Fuck Yourself!)
  13. Better Living Through Chemistry
  14. Bullet on the Brain

Label: MFZB Records

Genre: Punk Rock

Release Date EU: March 8th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: