CD review THE PICTUREBOOKS ‘The Hands of Time’

(9/10) You can’t have a good overview of everything that’s ongoing in rock, which also brings a lot of great moments with it by discovering ‘new’ bands. One of these new bands to me are The Picturebooks. I missed out on this band that had it’s start a decade ago.

So it was a kind of trip into the unknown when I pushed the ‘Start’-button the first time. Usually, in case I receive music from a band I don’t know, I listen to the album first before checking for any background information. It was also the approach this time and already the opener was a jaw-dropping experience.

‘House of Fire’ is an acapella track, solely built on the great voice of singer and guitarist Fynn Claus Grabke. These two minutes are a sweeping start into the album and it’s the following ‘Howling Wolf’ that gets even better out of the blocks.

The Picturebooks shifted their music from alternative/garage rock towards bluesy rock music with a touch of folk included. Without knowing better I would have located the band to the greater Portland area, but reality proves me wrong. The Picturebooks is a German band, hailing originally from Gutersloh. The guys imported a lot of inspiration they gained from a trip through the US and transferred it into something really great.

‘The Hands of Time’ is the carrier of eleven songs. Each of the tracks is built on emotion, passion and dedication. It’s these keywords that describe the music in the best way. Fynn Claus Grabke and Philipp Mirtschink (d) use the power of music to transport music that’s touching. This album is more than solely some notes, put together as a song. It’s an emotional journey that wows with awesome songs like the acoustic ‘Rain’, the snappy ‘Lizard’ and the blues-honoring title track. Last but not least you shouldn’t miss ‘You Can’t Let Go’, featuring no less than Chrissie Hynde.

In case you missed The Picturebooks too I can strongly recommend ‘The Hands of Time’. It’s a fascinating album that goes against all trends, which is exactly the joy of things. These songs are handmade music on a top level



  1. Horse of Fire
  2. Howling Wolf
  3. Like My World Explodes
  4. The Hands of Time
  5. The Day the Thunder Arrives
  6. Electric Nights
  7. Rain
  8. You Can’t Let Go (feat. Chrissie Hynde)
  9. Lizard
  10. Tell Me Lies
  11. The Rising Fall

Label: Century Media

Genre: Blues Rock

Release Date EU: March 8th, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑