(8/10) Usually I’m not that much thrilled by renewed bands that surf on a successful history, especially when it’s about the continuation of a heritage that’s out of reach. Fortunately there are exceptions and Last In Line is one of them.

As the moniker indicates the band is inspired by Dio’s masterpiece from 1984. Actually it’s far more than just being inspired. Guitarst Vivian Campell and Vinny Appice have been part of the line-up, flanking the legendary singer on stage and on three albums.

Last In Line started with the two guys, plus Jimmy Bain (R.I.P.) jamming and very soon they realised that the chemistry is still intact. One thing came to another, songs have been written and a first longplayer reached the record shops in 2016. In the meantime former Ozzy Osbourne bassist Phil Soussan replaced the legendary Jimmy Bain and things were ready to go.

‘II’ contains twelve new songs, reflecting a similar approach as the debut, but also carry things further to a next level. ‘II’ is darker than the predecessor and also opens up for a few other influences.

The music still  reminds of the legendary band, which isn’t a surprise knowing the involved musicians. The good thing with Last In Line is the fact that frontman Andrew Freeman doesn’t even try to copy Dio’s way of singing. It would have been a failure anyhow. Instead, the singer uses his great voice to enrich each of the songs by adding his own footprint to the total. The same goes for Campell and Appice play. It’s not that they want to copy the ‘80s. It’s more their way of handling their instruments and their ability that creates a natural link, rather than a forced retro sound.

The result is a great heavy metal album, done by veterans that know how things work. ‘II’ is an album that brings back some great days in heavy metal without hanging out at these glorious days. The album delights with an extra portion of progressivness and a some twists that couldn’t be foreseen. Last In Line is a contemporary interpretation of heavy metal and an album that should become a part of any serious metal collection. Horns up.



  1. Intro
  2. Blackout The Sun
  3. Landslide
  4. Gods And Tyrants
  5. Year Of The Gun
  6. Give Up The Ghost
  7. The Unknown
  8. Sword From The Stone
  9. Electrified
  10. Love And War
  11. False Flag
  12. The Light

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Heavy Metal;

Release Date EU: February 22nd, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑