CD review DER WEG EINER FREIHEIT ‘Live in Berlin’

(*/10) Black metallers Der Weg Einer Freiheit played a show at Lido in Berlin, Germany on October 14th, 2017. The concert, in front of an enthusiastic crowd, was captured and will be now released as a live album.

Simply entitled ‘Live in Berlin’ the record features a ten songs setlist that represents the entire discography of that quartet. No  doubt, the focus of the show was on the latest studio album ‘Finisterre’ with the two parts of ‘Skepsis’ being the centerpiece of the set. ‘Ewigkeit’, taken from the debut, bridges to the early days of Der Weg Einer Freiheit and it’s the epic ‘Zeichen’ and ‘Aufbruch’, proving that black metal is far more than solely noise. The genre can offer exciting compositions with more than ten minutes of length.

‘Live in Berlin’ is a well-done summary of the creative achievements of mainman Nikita Kamprad and band. Fans of Der Weg Einer Freiheit will appreciate the release and metalheads that missed the band so far will have a good chance to catch up.



  1. Einkehr – Live in Berlin
  2. Der stille Fluss ‐ Live in Berlin
  3. Repulsion ‐ Live in Berlin
  4. Skepsis Part I ‐ Live in Berlin
  5. Skepsis Part II ‐ Live in Berlin
  6. Ewigkeit ‐ Live in Berlin
  7. Zeichen ‐ Live in Berlin
  8. Aufbruch ‐ Live in Berlin
  9. Lichtmensch ‐ Live in Berlin
  10. Ruhe ‐ Live in Berlin

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: March 1st, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: