(8/10) Altitudes & Attitude is a side project of no less than Megadeth bass player David Ellefson and Anthrax’s four string specialist Frank Bello. The guys teamed-up with Jeff Friedl (A Perfect Circle) on drums, plus there’s a bigger amount of guests, contributing to some of the songs.

The two guys released a first EP in 2014 and it’s the debut that creates some new excitement. Altitudes & Attitude is the modern metal outlet of the two bassists with a sound that partly reminds me of bands like Foo Fighters. This project opens up new musical territory outside of Thrash- and Speed Metal and it also allows the two iconic musicians too make use of their musical talent, wider than merely playing the bass.

In this context, it’s Frank Bello singing, which is the first very positive news. The guy has a great voice that fits perfectly to Altitudes & Attitude’s sound. Secondly it’s the six-string guitar that’s handled by Ellefson and Bello too. With guests like Ace Frehley, Gus G. and others contributing with blistering solos parts, each of the songs includes all the ingredients for cool rocking anthems.

‘Get it Out’ became a fresh and dynamic album that combines Rock and Metal in a really good way. You can hear the joy and fun the two guys must have had while working on this album. Nothing feels forced. None of the songs sounds like being written and recorded under the pressure of being commercially successful. This longplayer is a matter of heart and spreads a hard rocking ease, which you can hear from start to end. This record clearly proves: Never underestimate the bass players.



  1. Get it Out
  2. Late
  3. Out Here
  4. Part of Me
  5. Slip
  6. Talk to Me
  7. Leviathan
  8. Cold
  9. Another Day
  10. All There Is
  11. Booze and Cigarettes
  12. Tell the World
  13. Here Again

Label: Megaforce Records

Genre: Modern Rock

Release Date EU: January 18th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑