CD review MALEVOLENT CREATION ‘The 13th Beast’

(9/10) Malevolent Creation’s 13th beast is a hungry one. The new longplayer of Florida-based riff grinder Malevolent Creation is a strong statement that oldschool death metal is livelier than ever.

The quartet released their latest album ‘Dead Man’s Path’ in 2015 and a lot of things happened between then and now. What had the biggest impact on the band was the death of Malevolent Creation frontman and founding member Bret Hoffman in 2018.

Such a stroke of fate needed some time to digest the new situation. It was co-founding member Phil Fasciana who resumed Malevolent Creation together with a new line-up, consisting of Lee Wollenschlaeger (v), P.M. Cancilla (d) and Josh Gibbs (b).

‘The 13th Beast’ is the first work performance record of this four-piece metal band and it’s an impressive one. Malevolent Creation’s new album comprises of brutal and aggressive songs, eleven in total. Wollenschlaeger’s vocals are of a slightly deeper tone and it’s the grinding riffs, making this album to masterpiece that we surely will find back in some 2019 year polls.

From ‘End the Torture’ to ‘Release the Soul’ things work perfectly together on this longplayer. High-speed blasts like ‘Agony of the Chosen’ are highlights as well as the almost seven minutes long ‘Born of Pain’. A death metal song of such an epical length demands some songwriting skills and Fasciana and Co. do have those in their musical tool kit. ‘Born of Pain’ is the best song on album number 13. It’s thrilling, has great breaks and deadly riffs. Wow.

‘The 13th Beast’ will be unleashed on January 18th. It’s an uncompromising record that shows the greatness of oldschool death metal in a terrific fashion. Thumbs up and get ready for ‘the be(a)st’.



01. End The Torture
02. Mandatory Butchery )
03. Agony For The Chosen
04. Canvas Of Flesh
05. Born Of Pain
06. The Beast Awakened
07. Decimated
08. Bleed Us Free
09. Knife At Hand
10. Trapped Inside
11. Release The Soul

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: January 18th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: