CD review JASON BECKER ‘Triumphant Hearts’

(*/10) ‘Triumphant Hearts’ is an album that’s much more than only another release that hits the record stores. The pure existence of ‘Triumphant Hearts’ is a statement that includes far more than merely great songs.

Jason Becker started as 19 years old. The talented six-string wizard became in no time one of the most respected guitarists and the release of the first Cacophony album, done together with his friend Marty Friedman, still belongs to the best instrumental records in metal.

A stroke of fate hit the guitarist 29 years ago when Becker was diagnosed with Lou Gehring’s Disease. The guitarist lost the ability to walk, play guitar and to even breath on his own. The documentary ‘Jason Becker: Not Dead Yet’ tells the story in a very touching way and the title of the documentary also implies that Becker still has something to say.

The back cover of this new album includes a statement that couldn’t describe things much better: “I can’t speak. I can’t play, but this flesh has much more to say”. This spirit summarizes ‘Triumphant Hearts’ in an excellent way. Although Jason Becker lost a lot of abilities it is his sense for great melodies and his musical creativity that stays.

The album comprises of 14 compositions, performed by friends. Marty Friedman is, of course, one of them and also the legendary Uli Jon Roth is part of this very special album.

A highlight for sure is ‘Valley of Fire’ done by The Magnificient 13, which is no less than a ‘who is who’ of rock/metal guitarists. Steve Vai, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Gilbert, Neal Schon, Marty Friedman, Michael Lee Firkins, Mattias IA Eklundh, Greg Howe, Jeff Loomis, Richie Kotzen, Gus G., Steve Hunter and Ben Woods, that’s The Magnificient 13. The song is the wonderful centerpiece of the album and shows the entire beauty of gently singing guitars.

‘Triumphant Hearst’ is an album that’s encouraging and shows, what’s possible with pure willpower. The message of ‘don’t give up’ was never set to music so nicely. 



1. Triumphant Heart (ft. Marty Friedman, Gluaco Bertagnin, Hiyori Okuda) 
2. Hold On To Love (ft. Codany Holiday) 
3. Fantasy Weaver (ft. Jake Shimabukuro) 
4. Once Upon A Melody
5. We Are One (ft. Steve Knight) 
6. Magic Woman (ft. Uli Jon Roth, Chris Broderick) 
7. Blowin’ In The Wind
8. River Of Longing (ft. Joe Satrianii, Aleks Sever, Guthrie Govan, Steve Morse) 
9. Valley Of Fire (ft. The Magnificent 13) 
10. River Of Longing (ft. Trevor Rabin) 
11. Taking Me Back
12. Tell Me No Lies
13. Hold On To Love (ft. Codany Holiday) [Chuck Zwicky Remix] 
14. You Do It

Label:  Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: December 7th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: