CD review STEPHEN PEARCY ‘View to a Thrill’

(7/10) Stephen Pearcy is the voice of Ratt. The frontman with the unique vocal style enriched hardrock milestones such as ‘Dancing Undercover’ and also hits like ‘Round and Round’ are closely connected to Pearcy and his way of singing.

Next to the Ratt longplayers the frontman also worked on solo albums and his newest strike is entitled ‘View to a Thrill’. The record comprises of eleven songs that, after the first spin, didn’t leave an impression on me, but listening to the album a few more times unveiled a good-vibe rock’n’roll record.

Songs like the opener ‘U Only Live Twice’, but also the following ‘Sky Falling’ try to connect to the glorious Ratt-days. The moderately paced ‘Secret to Tell’ belongs to the well-crafted hardrockers too and it’s the uptempo ‘I’m a Ratt’ being the best track on ‘View to a Thrill’.

Pearcy doesn’t re-invent hardrock with his fifth solo album. However, the eleven songs spread a cool vibe and it’s fun listening to these colorful rockers in a time when a lot of things are covered by grey shades.





  1. U Only Live Twice
  2. Sky Falling
  3. Malibu
  4. One In A Million
  5. Double Shot
  6. .Secrets To Tell
  7. Not Killin’ Me
  8. Dangerous Thing
  9. I’m A Ratt
  10. From The Inside
  11. Violator


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: November 9th, 2018




Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑