CD review BURNING WITCHES ‘Hexenhammer’

(8/10) Swiss-based metal hopefuls Burning Witches debuted in May last year with a self-titled album. The release received great feedback from fans was critically acclaimed too. 

With this positive response in mind, the five girls from Switzerland started to work on the sophomore release. ‘Hexenhammer’ is the name of this new metal strike, being Burning Witches’ first album for Nuclear Blast Records.

A lot of good things come together with Burning Witches. The first thing is the unleashed energy of the quintet. Even though the band is sound-wise rooted in traditional metal, the girls add juveniles abandon to everything they are doing. Nothing on ‘Hexenhammer’ feels forced or stressed. Burning Witches channels the positive reactions for the debut and creates a new album, that’s even stronger than what was served a year ago.

Not only, but also because of the female vocals I was reminded of the early Warlock days while listening to the longplayer. Regardless of where you drop the needle, you will love what gets out of the speakers, all getting finished with a well-done cover version of Dio’s ‘Holy Diver’. 

Other great tracks on the album are ‘Executed’, a track with full speed and no breaks on. Also ‘Maneater’ has a lot of firepower, while ‘Don’t Cry My Tears’ unveils the soulful side of Burning Witches’ sound. ‘Maiden of Steel’ reminds with the phrasing of the earlier Zed Yago and it’s the title track, being the moderate paced anthem of the album.

‘Hexenhammer’ is pure metal entertainment – build on blood, sweat and tears. Bang your head!





  1. The Witch Circle
  2. Executed
  3. Lords Of War
  4. Open Your Mind
  5. Don’t Cry My Tears
  6. Maiden Of Steel
  7. Dungeon Of Infamy
  8. Dead Ender
  9. Hexenhammer
  10. Possession
  11. Maneater
  12. Holy Diver


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: November 9th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑