CD review PICTURE ‘Live – 40 Years Heavy Metal Ears – 1978-2018’

(*/10) Picture are real pioneers in heavy metal. The band, hailing from The Netherlands, was one of the first metal bands in Holland with a foundation date in 1978. In the meantime we are four decades further in time and Picture is still around. Already this fact is impressive since it demands a lot of passion and willpower to keep a band alive and kicking for 40 years.

Secondly, and not least stunning, is the fact that Picture almost managed to maintain the original line-up. Ronald van Prooijen, Jan Bechtum, Rinus Vreugdenhil and Laurens Bakker, together with guitarist Appie de Gelder celebrated this special anniversary with a classic line-up tour in 2017 and the songs of this live release were recording during these shows on the stages pf Europe.

‘Live – 40 Years Heavy Metal Ears – 1978-2018’ is more than merely a live album. It’s the compilation of songs of a metal band that had the stamina to go for 40 years in rock music and not many bands can take up the cause of such an achievement.

Next to the excellent songs, representing Pictures discography very well, it is the sound of the album that is very convincing too. Each of the seventeen songs got a clear and authentic sound that also gives enough space for the enthusiastic audience to be heard on this very well-done live release.

In case you missed Picture so far, maybe because you’re even younger than 40 years of age, it is ‘Live – 40 Years Heavy Metal Ears – 1978-2018’ that provides you with an excellent overview of what these Dutch metal veterans achieved. Excellent metal music is what you get with this live release and you shouldn’t miss it.





  1. You’re All Alone
  2. Get Back or You’ll Fall
  3. Message From Hell
  4. Night Hunter
  5. The Hangman
  6. Night Tiger
  7. No No No
  8. Old Dogs New Tricks
  9. Live by the Sword
  10. Eternal Dark
  11. Diamond Dreamer
  12. Heavy Metal Ears
  13. Unemployed
  14. Bombers
  15. Lady Lightning
  16. You Can Go
  17. Spend the Night With You 


Label: Pure Steel Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 26th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: