(8/10) Slash albums attract success and chart positions as almost nobody else does in the fields of rock.

I can’t imagine that anybody, that’s interested in music, doesn’t know the iconic guitarist from London, England. Guns’n’Roses was the mega-successful springboard, followed by solo albums and many musical cooperations.

The first solo album Slash unveiled was back in 2010. The 14 songs comprising longplayer featured a various amount of singers, with Alter Bridge frontman Myles Kennedy being one of them. Vibes must have been really good ones between Slash and Kennedy since it was album number two that solely featured Myles Kennedy doing all the vocals.

The fruitful and productive collaboration continued and although both musicians are/were facing busy agendas, there was time enough for more longplayers. Based on willpower and a very solid organizational planning both musicians found time and space for working on ‘Living the Dream’, the new longplayer of Slash feat. Myles Kennedy and the Conspirators.

‘Living the Dream’ contains 12 new songs that can be seen as a continuation of the ‘World on Fire’ album from 2014. Key ingredients for this album is without any doubt Slash’s guitar play signature and the unique voice of Kennedy. The magical combination of these two components led to the highly successful release in the past and the new album is no exception. 

Slash and Myles Kennedy never disappointed fans. The guys are too ambitious and too skilled in songwriting and recording to end up at average. Songs like the single release ‘Driving Rain’ are timeless tunes that reflect a rock’n’roll vibe and doesn’t curry up with mainstream trends. Another really cool moment on ‘Living the Dream’ is entitled ‘Serve you Right’. This slower paced rock anthem comes with a strong blues vibe and it’s the rhythm that catches your attention right away. It’s a counterpart to the opener if you will, which is an uptempo smasher that sets the tone of voice for the album.

‘Sugar Cane’ comes with a lot of guitar power, while it’s the anthemic ‘Boulevard of Broken Hearts’ the ends the album in a perfect fashion.

‘Living the Dream’ will be loved by fans of Slash and Myles Kennedy. This album prolongs the winning streak of Slash’s solo albums and it’s a sure bet that this album will go strong, as it was with the previous releases too.





  1. The Call of the Wild
  2. Serve You Right
  3. My Antidote
  4. Mind Your Manners
  5. Lost Inside the Girl
  6. Read Between the Lines
  7. Slow Grind
  8. The One You Loved is Gone
  9. Driving Rain
  10. Sugar Cane
  11. The Great Pretendder
  12. Boulevard of Broken Hearts


Label: Roadrunner Records

Genre: Hardrock

Release Date EU: September 21st, 2018


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: