CD review KRISIUN ‘Scourge of the Enthroned’

(8/10) It very rarely happens that a band has a longterm consistency in their line-up. Brazilian riff grinders Krisiun is such a band. The trio started in 1990 and together maneuvered through almost three decades in death metal. Next to the fact that this is a rather unique thing I mention it, because I have the feeling that this consistency is one of the crucial factors for making ‘Scourge of the Enthroned’ to a really strong metal record.

The three brothers worked on their eleventh longplayer ‘Scourge of the Enthroned’ and the result will be available in the record stores in a few days. The record features eight songs, reflecting brutal but also well thought-through death metal with some weaved in oldschool references.

Two things mainly stand out on ‘Scourge of the Enthroned’. It is the density that wows on the new record of the Brazilians and it’s the songwriting finesse that comes with each of the songs. Krisiun doesn’t solely push the pedal to the medal. Doubtless, there are the massive speed attacks. Tunes like ‘Slay the Prophet’ and ‘Electricide’ don’t consider any speed limits. These songs reflect the furious part of Krisiun’s sound, but there is more to discover. Even the faster tracks have some tempo breaks and it’s songs such as ‘Demonic III’ that builds on pure and intense riff power. The beauty with this hellish track is the change of tempo throughout and it’s the neck breaker riff in the middle section that does a great job.

The songs I mentioned are great death metal monsters but a track you shouldn’t miss at all is number four on the batting order. ‘Devouring Faith’ belongs to the best death metal tracks I have heard this year. The mighty beat of this track opens the crust to the abyss and unveils an evil death metal vibe that’s fascinating. Finished off by a merciless groove it is ‘Devouring Faith’ that got already quite some rounds in my player.

Krisiun are veterans in the fields of death metal and the new album isn’t about band exploring new territory. ‘Scourge of the Enthroned’ instead is an album that fine-tunes all Krisiun trademarks in a really impressive way. I think it is the most mature album of the Brazilian trio, not neglecting any roots. You shouldn’t miss this album.





  1. Scourge of the Enthroned 
  2. Demonic III 
  3. Devouring Faith 
  4. Slay the Prophet
  5. A Thousand Graves 
  6. Electricide 
  7. Abysmal Misery (Foretold Destiny) 
  8. Whirlwind of Immortality 


Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 7th, 2018


Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑