CD review DEICIDE ‘Overtures of Blaspemy’

(8/10) Death metal veterans Deicide invested quite some time when it comes to work for their 12th longplayer. ‘Overtures of Blasphemy’, so the title of the metal blast, was done over several months in a two years period. All the work and effort led to a twelve track album with songs not reaching the four minutes mark.

Deicide keeps things short and focused on ‘Overtures of Blasphemy’. The album is dark and heavy and the band didn’t lose any aggressiveness over the last 24 months with Benton growling through the tracklist as if there would be no tomorrow. What’s different to the latest releases is that Glen Benton, after many years, returned to the song writing process and contributed with three songs. One of them is the brute opener ‘One with Satan’. Oldschool death metal, that’s what the song is about. There is no moment to rest neither there is a moment to breath. It’s a wrecking ball that starts the album.

Next to the frontman it is Benton’s longtime companion Steve Asheim who has a big impact on the band’s sound and music. He, together with Kevin Quirion and Mark English, wrote the other nine songs on ‘Overtures of Blasphemy’. It’s songs like the raging ‘Seal the Tomb Below’ that shows the entire experience and the arsenal of guitar power the veterans have in their repertoire. ‘Seal the Tomb Below’, but also the following ‘Compliments of Christ’ are brilliant death metal anthems with aggressive vocals, blistering riffs and furious solo parts. The latter, by the way, is another track with Benton wielding the pen. Other songs I can recommend are ‘Anointed in Blood’ and ‘Defying the Sacred’, both equipped with some catchy hooks and solo parts, which adds extra variety to the total and shows the band’s songwriting skills.

‘Overture of Blasphemy’ became a really good death metal album. The band belongs to the spearhead of US death metal and their 12th album clearly points out why they could maintain their status over 30 years. Deicide 2018 is maybe older, but for sure not calmer, softer or tamed.





  1. One With Satan (3:46)
  2. Crawled From The Shadows (3:20)
  3. Seal The Tomb Below (2:57)
  4. Compliments Of Christ (2:44
  5. All That Is Evil (3:24)
  6. Excommunicated (2:55)
  7. Anointed In Blood (3:18)
  8. Crucified Soul Of Salvation (3:00)
  9. Defying The Sacred (3:30)
  10. Consumed By Hatred (3:02)
  11. Flesh, Power, Dominion (3:33)
  12. Destined To Blasphemy (2:25)


Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 14th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑