CD review DORO “Forever Warriors, Forever United”

(8/10) German metal queen Doro Pesch is celebrating two anniversary at the same time. The highly respected metal singer releases her 20th longplayer and it fits perfect since 2018 is also the 35th year Doro’s on stage. With having these two things in mind, work for the new album ’Forever Warrior, Forever United’ was done with an extra portion of effort, leading to the first double album in Doro’s impressive career in metal.

In total 25 new tracks have been spread over 2 discs of which disc no.1 zooms in more on the heavy stuff, while the second part in general brings the more soulful rocking Doro to forefront, also spice up with some heavier tunes like ‘Fight Through the Fire’.

Of course, also ‘Forever Warrior, Forever United’ builds on the typical Doro-sound with Doro’s voice being the centerpiece. Songs from the iconic German metal queen can be immediately identified, which says a lot about uniqueness and identity of singer, sound and songs.

What benefits the album a lot is, next to the singer, also the rest of the band. Luca Princiotta, Bas Maas, Nick Douglas and Johnny Dee are playing together with Doro for a long time, which contributes to a dense and voluminous sound on the new album. All five together reflect the album title in a pretty good way, since they all seem to be warriors in metal, standing together as a rock solid unite.

Next to the very well done songs it’s the collaboration and guest appearances that makes ‘Forever Warriors, Forever Unite’ to something special. Especially ‘All For Metal’ features a contribution of many iconic metal icons. Mille (Kreator), Chuck Billy (Testament), Jeff waters (Annihilator) and many more added parts and pieces to this metal hymn. The song is also the last one Warrel Dane (R.I.P.) recorded, which will be a highlight for fans of Nevermore and Sanctuary. Last but not least it’s Amon Amarth frontman Johan Hegg that is part of ‘All For Metal’ too, plus that he has a duet with Doro Pesch on ‘If I Can’t Have You – No One Will’, with the latter being an interesting contrast when it comes to very different voices going together quite well.

But it’s not only singers that contributed. The Dead Daisies guitarist Doug Aldrich added a furious solo on ‘Heartbroken’ and lifts the song to one of the best ones on the album. Other tracks you shouldn’t miss are ‘Turn It Up’ with a great rock’n’roll drive and also the ‘Bastardos’ with its reference to the Warlock days is a great blast on the album. Last but not least there’s with ‘Don’t Break My Heart Again’ a cover on the album too. Doro’s interpretation of the song is very well-done, although the original version from Whitesnake’s ‘Come An’ get It’ album stays the best one ever.

Doro Pesch belongs to the smaller group of musicians that are respected by nearly everybody who loves rock and metal. You like her music or maybe not, but it’s the high level of authenticity and her closeness to fans that gives her a lot of credit. Everybody who has seen Doro live on stage knows what I’m talking about and the new album, with its typical Doro songs, will strengthen her status in metal even more.





Forever Warriors Disc

  1. All For Metal
  2. Bastardos
  3. If I Can’t Have You – No One Will
  4. Soldier Of Metal
  5. Turn It Up
  6. Blood, Sweat And Rock ‘n’ Roll
  7. Don’t Break My Heart Again
  8. Love’s Gone To Hell
  9. Freunde Fürs Leben
  10. Backstage To Heaven
  11. (Bonus (Digipak and LP)):
  12. Be Strong (Bonus (Digipak and LP)):
  13. Black Ballad (Bonus (Digipak und LP)):
  14. Bring My Hero Back Home Again (Bonus (Digipak and LP)):

Forever United Disc

  1. Résistance
  2. Lift Me Up
  3. Heartbroken
  4. It Cuts So Deep
  5. Love Is A Sin
  6. Living Life To The Fullest
  7. 1000 Years
  8. Fight Through The Fire
  9. Lost In The Ozone
  10. Caruso (Bonus (Digipak and LP))
  11. Tra Como E Coriovallum (instrumental) (Bonus (Digipak and LP))
  12. Metal Is My Alcohol (Bonus (Digipak and LP))


Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 17th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: