CD review U.D.O. ‘Steelfactory’

(8/10) Udo Dirkschneider is more than a well-known name when it comes to German metal. There are many singers in metal and there are many singers with a raspy voice, but there is one voice that can be immediately identified – the one of Udo Dirkschneider. It was him and his way of singing that gave Accept a special expression and it was later on his solo outlet U.D.O. that was built around his excellent metal singing too.

I don’t think that I have to introduce Udo Dirkschneider. It feels like carrying sand to the beach. But I would like to talk about the new U.D.O. album. Overwhelmed by the tremendous success of Dirkschneider and the connected touring activities there was a bit less activity in the U.D.O. camp. Touring with Accept songs under the banner of Dirkschneider led to far more concerts than expected but now it’s time again for new U.D.O. material.

What title could work better for a new U.D.O. album than ‘Steelfactory’? The iconic singer and his band (Andrey Smirnov (g), Fitty Wienhold (b) and Sven Dirkschneider (d)) will release a 13 songs comprising metal record end of August, using the entire toolbox of heavy metal. This metal factory works less with a hammer and an anvil. It’s heavy guitar riffs, a pounding bass and hard-hitting drum, together with Dirkschneider’s great voice, being the toolkit for this excellent metal record.

This longplayer contains typical U.D.O. hymns. It is not about endless solo sections or musical frills that makes tunes like … and … to something great. ‘Steelfactory’ is a straight-forward metal record that unveils its beauty immediately by well-crafted riffpower. Each of the songs on the album is like high-hardness steel that runs out of the furnace of metal. These songs are robust, solid, heavy and indestructible.

Three years after having released ‘Decadent’, the most iconic German metal frontman is back with a new album. It was worth to wait for ‘Steelfactory’, an album that picks it up where the band ended on ‘Decadent’. There’s nothing more to say than: Bang your heads.





  1. Tongue Reaper
  2. Make the Move
  3. Keeper of my Soul
  4. In the Heart of the Night
  5. Raise the Game
  6. Blood on Fire
  7. The Devil is an Angel
  8. Hungry and Angry
  9. One Heart One Soul
  10. Pictures in my Dream
  11. A Bite of Evil
  12. Eraser
  13. Rose in the Desert
  14. The Way


Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 31st, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: