CD review REDEMPTION ‘Long Night’s Journey Into Day’

(9/10) One of the bands that constantly delivered excellent music over the last few years was prog metal powerhouse Redemption. The band is the brainchild of guitarist Nick van Dyk and debut in 2003 with their self-titled first album. After some years with InsideOut the band released the first album for Metal Blade in 2016. ‘The Art of Loss’ was an stunning masterpiece in progressive metal music and it wasn’t an easy piece of work for Dyk and bandmates when it comes to the successor. 

What raised the level of curiosity and challenged even more was the fact that Redemption had to face a line-up change. It was singer Ray Alder who decided to focus entirely on Fates Warning and left a gap behind. Fortunately the open position could be filled in rather quickly with Evergrey singer Tom Englund. With having him on board, work on ‘Long Night’s Journey Into Day’ could be finalized in equal quality and here it is, the new Redemption longplayer.

The record features ten songs and as expected, each of the tunes is a smasher. Filigree guitar play, excellently crafted melodies, complex structures and catchy hooks is what you get with these ten compositions. Englund found his way into Redemption’s sound rather quickly and it feels like he was the band’s frontman since years. The new album is fully in line with the predecessors, with the Swedish singer adding a bit of a coarser voice to the mix – something that works very well.

To pick any song in specific out of this 66 minutes firework of metal is a mission impossible. They are all very well done and a pure delight for ambitious and demanding metal fans. Tons of twists and turns guarantee a constant level of excitement while the solo parts leave you with a mouth wide open. 

To sum up. ‘Long Night’s Journey Into Day’ is a brilliant progressive metal album. The ten songs belong to the best this genre could offer and stands in line with highlights of bands like Dream Theater and Fates Warning. It’s simply a ‘must have’ release. Stunning.





  1. Eyes You Dare Not Meet in Dreams
  2. Someone Else’s Problem
  3. The Echo Chamber
  4. Impermanent
  5. Indulge in Color
  6. Little Men
  7. And Yet
  8. The Last of Me
  9. New Year’s Day
  10. Long Night’s Journey into Day


Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: July 29th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑