CD review BLACK SPACE RIDERS ‘Amoretum Vol. 2’

(9/10) Not only that Muenster-based alternative metal band Black Space Riders delivers exquisite records; they also do it in a fast fashion. Six months after having published the terrific ‘Amoretum Vol. 1’ album the next record waits in the starting blocks. ‘Amoretum Vol. 2’ will be unveiled end of July and by this the band is a real candidate for being the most productive band in 2018.

The new offer can easily live-up to the quality expected, after having enjoyed the latest longplayer several times. The 14 songs that made it on part two of this exciting cycle are excellent alternative rockers. The quality level of Black Space Rider’s music is impressive. None of the tunes, neither on part 1 nor on part 2, leads to a boring moment. The band manages to create arcs of suspense that are all fascinating.

Drums and down-tuned guitars are the starters into an exciting album. ‘Before My Eyes’ is a very rhythm-based opener that’s followed by the uptempo ‘LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove!’. The song is built on a rock solid bass line and spreads an anarchic vibe. This track is a highlight and so is the following ‘Walls Away’. If you want to experience the entire spectrum of Black Space Riders sound, you solely have to listening to these three songs. ‘Walls Away’ is a gently rocking track with an outstanding melody and an atmospheric expression. It’s a contrast to ‘LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove!’ and adds excitement to the album.

Amoretum Vol. 2’ also contains some short and spot-on songs. ‘Assimilating Love’ for example brings back the punk vibe and is with 2,5 minutes a raging song that excludes all unnecessary frills. And if you think that you can grasp the entire width of the album after having heard just half of it, I can tell you that there are more twists to come. ‘Leaves of Life (Falling Down)’ reveals the gloomy side of Black Space Riders’ sound while ‘Body Move’ is providing some dark funkiness.

‘Amoretum Vol. 2’ is a masterpiece when it comes to highly creative alternative rock. Black Space Riders are a band that, up till now, never reached a wider audience even though they release one excellent album after the other. Also the newest delivery isn’t an exception. ‘Amoretum Vol.2’ is a brilliant continuation of what started half a year ago with ‘Vol. 1’. The only thing that’s predictable with Black Space Riders is the unpredictability and never-ending creative flow of one of the best European rock bands.





  1. Before My Eyes
  2. LoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLoveLove!
  3. Walls Away
  4. Slainte (Salud dinero amor)
  5. Assimilating Love
  6. In Our Garden
  7. Leaves of Life (Falling Down)
  8. Body Move
  9. Take me to the Stars
  10. Ch Ch Ch Ch pt.I (The Ugly Corruptor)
  11. Ch Ch Ch Ch pt.II (Living in My Dream)
  12. Chain Reaction
  13. No Way
  14. The Wait is Never Over


Label: Black Space Records / Cargo Records

Genre: Alternative Rock/Metal

Release Date EU: July 27thth, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑