CD review ENTOMBED ‘Clandestine – Live’

(8/10) Swedish Music Hall of Famers Entombed debuted in 1990 with the frame-smashing ‘Left Hand Path’ record and became the spearhead of Swedish Death Metal. The sophomore album ‘Clandestine’ strengthened their position and both longplayers became a solid rock in the fields of Extreme Metal.

‘Clandestine’ was originally released in 1991 and the idea to celebrate the 25th anniversary of this milestone album rose rather quickly. The original Entombed members Nicke Andersson, Uffe Cederlund and Alex Hellid, together with Robert Andersson and Edvin Aftonfalk, honoured the classic album with a special show that took place in Malmö , Sweden in November 2016. The set was split into two parts of which the second one is available on this live album.

After a first set, that included the Malmö Symphonic Orchestra and Choir, the five piece played the entire ‘Clandestine’ album without orchestra, raw and evil from start to end. The live album comes with a good and also authentic sound.

I think I don’t have to waste any words on the songs. Sonic wrecking ball like ‘Blessed Be’ are devilish smashers that again shows the importance of Entombed for Death Metal in general. This live album ends with the glorious Death Metal anthem ‘Left Hand Path’, the title track of the debut and the encore that night. It a brutal version and a well-chosen finisher that closes the books on this unique concert.



  1. Intro
  2. Living Dead
  3. Sinners Bleed
  4. Evilyn
  5. Blessed Me
  6. Stranger Aeons
  7. Chaos Breed
  8. Crawl
  9. Severe Burns
  10. Through the Colannades
  11. Left Hand Path

Label: Threeman Recordings

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 17th, 2019

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑