CD review KOMATSU ‘A New Horizon’

(8/10) Eindhoven Rockcity is more than just a name. It’s the moniker of an initiative that combines Eindhoven’s vital rock- and metal scene, with Komatsu being one representative of. The quartet, consisting of Martijn Mansvelders, Mathijs Bodt, Mo Truijens and Jos Roosen, started Komatsu in 2010 and debuted in 2013 with ‘Manu Armata’.

Komatsu plays a robust mix of sludge, stoner rock and metal. Combining these styles led to ten brand new songs, ending up on the tracklist of the third Komatsu album, entitled ‘A New Horizon’. One of the main characteristics of ‘A New Horizon’ is the massive wall of riffs, produced by heavily downtuned guitars. Together with a merciless grooving rhythm section songs like ‘I Got Drive’ are real energizers. Although most of the tracks include vocals too, it is the instrumental ‘Surfing a Landslide’, which proves that focus on instruments only can do the job perfectly too. The song might be in some parts less heavy than most of the other noisy smashers. Instead ‘Surfing a Landslide’ has a more atmospheric approach and fits very well into the context of this release.

All this shows the variety Komatsu has in the offer and the quartet is best when they slow down speed. ‘Love Screams Cruelty’ is such a slowly roaring riff monster and belongs to the highlights on this release.

By all the heaviness that comes with these ten songs, Komatsu pays enough attention to melodies, which makes the longplayer to an approachable one. ‘A New Horizon’ is definitely no background music album, but it’s also not a record that takes many spins to get into it. It unfolds its general joy, the first time you listen to it and it’s the intensity that makes you pressing the ‘Play’ button again and again.

Komatsu is a great representative for Eindhoven being the capital of rock in The Netherlands. ‘A New Horizon’ is a forceful longplayer that you shouldn’t miss.





  1. I Got Drive
  2. Prophecy
  3. 10-4
  4. Surfing a Landslide
  5. Love Screams Cruelty
  6. Komatsu
  7. Infected
  8. A New Horizon
  9. Walk a Mile
  10. The Ship Has Sailed


Label: Argonauta Records

Genre: Stoner Rock/Sludge

Release Date EU: September 7th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑