CD review NIGHT DEMON ‘Live Darkness’

(8/10) I had the chance to witness the Night Demon live show the band performed at this year’s Rock Hard Festival and I can tell you that the upcoming live release captures the enormous power of the Californian metal outfit as good as it can be done on CD.

Jarvis Leatherby and his metal warriors debut with a self-titled EP in 2013. Packed with traditional metal anthems the release was a springboard for the band, leading to the fabulous ‚Cursed of the Damned‘ debut.

Night Demon’s rise is impressive. Within five years the band could realise one EP and two successful albums, all of them helping the band to increase the fanbase with rapid pace. But Night Demon doesn’t solely spend time in the studio or in rehearsal rooms. These guys are on the road quite often; with small headliner tours or as support for bigger acts like Accept.

To celebrate all the achieved, Night Demon played a special show in Cleveland, Ohio on December 2nd, 2017. The Beachland Ballroom was fully packed that night and it was this enthusiastic group of metalhead that made the night and its recording to a really cool one.

The show featured a long setlist with songs from both longplayers. A special moment was the ultra-heavy version of ‚Evil Like a Knife‘ with a guest appearance of no less than Midnight frontman Athenar himself.

Night Demon stand for authentic heavy metal, rooted in the NWoBHM. Blistering guitar, pounding drums and a merciless bass are the main ingredients of Night Demon’s sound. It’s these basic elements of metal that Night Demon handles in perfection. Night Demon lives heavy metal and this what this live album is about.





CD 1:

  1. Welcome to the Night
  2. Full Speed Ahead
  3. Ritual
  4. Curse Of The Damned
  5. Dawn Rider
  6. Save Me Now
  7. Hallowed Ground
  8. Maiden Hell
  9. Mastermind
  10. On Your Own
  11. Life On The Run

CD 2:

  1. The Howling Man
  2. Black Widow
  3. Ancient Evil 
  4. Satan
  5. Evil Like A Knife
  6. Stranger In The Room
  7. Screams In The Night
  8. Flight Of The Manticore
  9. The Chalice
  10. Darkness Remains
  11. Heavy Metal Heat
  12. Night Demon


Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 10th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑