CD review KISSIN‘ DYNAMITE ‚Ecstacy‘

(9/10) I think that one of the reasons why a Kissin‘ Dynamite album creates some excitement on my side is the fact that the guys partly remind me of my own youth. Grown up in Swabia and being thrilled by metal is what I get in my mind when listening to Kissin‘ Dynamite‘s music. It feels to a certain extend like a journey back in time, days when vinyls and tapes have been shared on the school yard, times when bands like Metallica have been more of an insider tip rather than a mega-act.

OK, you‘re right. This might not be that interesting for you since you want to read some stuff about the band‘s new album, and here it is. To name an album ‚Ecstacy‘ is a brave decision since it might rise expectations. Is it really as ecstatic as the title wants to make you think? I can‘t answer this question for you, but Kissin‘ Dynamite‘s sixth longplayer is for sure a big step towards the right direction and creates a lot of excitement.

I wasn‘t too much thrilled about the last two albums. For me it felt like the band‘s looking for their musical way forward, which gave ‚Megalomania‘ and ‚Generation Goodbye‘ a partly scattered expression. With ‚Ecstacy‘ the Swabian quintet is fully back on track. I couldn‘t identify any real weak spot on this record. If you‘re a fan of melodic metal, you will highly appreciate songs like ‚I‘ve Got the Fire‘, Placebo‘ and ‚Somebody‘s Gotta Do It‘. These tracks showcase a (still) young, but experienced band that adds some new smashers to their musical repertoire.

After some years of orientation, Kissin‘ Dynamite are back with ‚Ecstacy‘ – an album that belongs to the best ones the band released up to date. The five-piece powerhouse focus on what they are best, writing melodic metal songs with a good level of own identity and passion. Thumbs up for this mature masterpiece.





  1. You‘ve Got the Fire
  2. You‘re Not Alone
  3. Somebody‘s Gotta Do It
  4. Ecstacy
  5. Still Around
  6. Superhuman
  7. Placebo
  8. Breaking the Silence
  9. Waging War
  10. One More Time
  11. Heart of Stone
  12. Wild Wind
  13. No Time to Wonder


Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: July 6th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑