CD review TRAUMA ‘As the World Dies’

(7/10) Bay Area metal veterans Trauma might a sound like a rather new band for some of you. You might never heard of this quintet before. Trauma isn’t a new band. There start dates back to 1980 and it was no less than former Metallica bass player Cliff Burton (R.I.P.) who was founding member of Trauma.

In this sense Trauma belongs to the first wave of Bay Area thrash metal, but unfortunately things didn’t turn out very well for them. While bands like Metallica grew to one of the biggest metal bands Trauma could merely release a debut entitled ‘Scratch and Scream’ which was unveiled in 1984. The band disbanded in 1986.

Don Hiller and Kris Gustofson reactivated Trauma in 2012 with the ‘Rapt… and Wrath’ album being released in 2015. The band from the Bay Area seems to get into a production mode since three years later the third album sees the light of day. ‘As the World Dies’. The line-up for this album includes, next to Hiller and Gustofson, Joe Fraulob (ex-Danzig), Steve Robello (Dublin Death Patrol) and Greg Christian, known from his time with Testament.

This five-piece recorded with ‘As the World Dies’ a traditional thrash metal album that gets out of the boxes very well. Each of the ten songs comes with an oldschool vibe. An oppressive guitar part starts the album. ‘The Rage’ is a typical Bay Area thrasher with riffs reminding of the earlier Metallica. Hiller is a real metal siren and the 80’s are so much present throughout.

In case you want to check out the album I can recommend the first three songs. These tracks give you a good idea of what to expect. The raging leads of ‘From Here to Hell’ are exciting and it’s the melodic chorus breaks the pattern. Last but not least it’s the title track that showcases a band that also can out a foot on the break. Black Sabbath roots can’t be denied even though the songs evolves to a headbanger per excellence. All three songs together stand for everything you can expect from “As the World Dies’.

The album might not become an all-time classic. However, it offers some oldschool thrash metal, featuring harsh thrasher like ‘Gun to Your Head’ as well as ‘’Run For Cover’ with its acoustic start and an evolvement to an melodic thrash-/power metal smasher. If you’re looking for a journey back in time, this is your longplayer.





  1. The Rage
  2. From Here to Hell
  3. As the World Dies
  4. Gun to Your Head
  5. Last Rites
  6. Run for Cover
  7. Asylum
  8. Entropy
  9. Cool Aid
  10. Savage


Label: Rivet Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: May 11th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: