CD review WITCHSKULL ‘Coven’s Will’

(7/10) Lee Dorrian’s Rise Above Records is the label that releases Witchskull’s new longplayer ‘Coven’s Will’. The trio, hailing from Canberra, Australia, unveils their sophomore album three years after having debut with ‘The Vast Electric Dark’

It looks like running time doesn’t seem to be the main focus these days with ‘Coven’s Will’ being another album that stays below 40 minutes. Its eight songs that made it on the tracklist, all reflecting slow-paced metal that sits somewhere between doom and stoner. Tunes like ‘Son of the Snake’ reveals some NWoBHM references too with Black Sabbath being a crucial source of inspiration. A song that is even more inspired by Tony Iommi and Co. is ‘Priestess’, which is a slo-mo doom song, built on a heavy riff. This tune sounds like the never-ending Moskstraumen. It’s a dark atmosphere that comes with the tune, giving the listener some excitement and some shivers too.

‘Coven’s Will’ is a well-crafted second album of this Australian trio. Every note played expresses the initial intention of the three guys. It’s about writing and playing music, built on a common base and background. It’s not about musical success and trends. ‘Coven’s Will’ is an album that’s done with dedication and a commitment to own musical roots.





  1. Raven
  2. Son of the Snake
  3. Priestess
  4. Breathing Blue…
  5. Demon Cage
  6. Spyres
  7. Lord of the Void
  8. The Empty Well


Label: Rise Above

Genre: Doom Metal

Release Date EU: June 1st, 2018

Comments are closed.

Powered by

Up ↑