CD review JIZZY PEARL OF LOVE/HATE ‘All You Need is Soul’

(8/10) Love/Hate was a not unsuccessfully operating American sleaze metal band in the second half of the 80’s and early 90′. ‘Wasted in America’, the sophomore album, was a bigger success and also the following ‘Let’s Rumble’ faced a chart entry. Unfortunately the quartet couldn’t maintain their successful career in times when grunge and alternative rock gained momentum.

Jizzy Pearl was singer and frontman of Love/Hate and that’s why this release comes with the addition of …’of Love/Hate’. I assume that the ‘appendix’ is pure namedropping and should help the album to get extra attention. After having listened to this longplayer I don’t think that this is necessary since the songs itself do the job.

The uptempo opener ‘You’re Gonna Miss me When I’m Gone’ gets out of the boxes extremely well and sets the scene for the rest of the album. This longplayer is fun from start to end, spreading a positive vibe and pure joy of life.

‘High For an Eye’ is another well done rock song and ‘House of Sin’  brings cool sleaze rock back to life. Listening to the tune feels like the 80’s never ended. ‘Frustrated’ instead delivers fast-paced hardrock. The song is pure energy boost and it’s ‘When the Devil Comes Down’  that even shows a grunge vibe.

The half-acosutic ‘You Don’t Know What Its Like’ is a song that needs to be on the tracklist of such an album too. Even though the track doesn’t offer a lot of new, it’s still an entertaining track  and the same goes for the ballad entitled ‘It Doesn’t Matter’.

‘All You Need is Soul’ is an album that definitely includes heart and soul. It sounds like a passionate album rather than a warmed-up 80’s vibe. The reason for this album must have deeper roots than just bringing a sleaze rocker back into the spotlight. ‘All You Need is Soul’ sounds more like a matter of heart and an outlet for creativity that summed-up over years.





  1. You’re Gonna Miss Me When I’m Gone
  2. Comin’ Home To The Bone
  3. High For An Eye
  4. All You Need Is Soul
  5. House Of Sin
  6. Mortified
  7. Frustrated
  8. When The Devil Comes
  9. You Don’t Know What It’s Like
  10. It Doesn’t Matter
  11. Little Treasures
  12. Mr. Jimmy


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Sleaze Rock

Release Date EU: May 11th, 2018

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: