CD review MÖTLEY CRÜE ‘The Dirt Soundtrack’

(*/10) Mötley Crüe belongs to the forerunners of sleaze rock. The quartet from LA, California released genre defining albums like ‘Shout at the Devil’, ‘Dr. Feelgood’ and ‘Girls, Girls, Girls’, longplayers that include timeless Hard Rock anthems that are still relevant in the here and now.

It was especially during the ’80s when the four-piece powerhouse celebrated huge successes, but also the latest ‘Saints of Los Angeles’ album from 2008 showcased a band that still knows how to write extremely good rock songs.

In a context of The Dirt, now streaming on Netflix, Mötley Crüe release a soundtrack that can seen as a ‘Best of…’, covering 38 years in rock. It’s a must that the 18 songs comprising album features classics such as ‘ Looks That Kill’, ‘Girls, Girls, Girls’, ‘Same Ol’ Situation and many more – and it does.

Neil, Mars, Sixx and Lee already released compilations already earlier in their career and an extra was needed to make this release to something more special. The bonus fans get with ‘The Dirt’ are four new songs of which one is a cover version.

The quartet rearranged Madonna’s ‘Like a Virgin’ and turned it into a dirty rock song that works very well.

‘Ride With the Devil’ is a new song that includes the typical Mötley Crüe vibe. It belongs to the darker ones in the band’s discography and picks it up right where the guys left off with ‘Saints of Los Angeles’. ‘Crash and Burn’ is another moderately paced Hard Rock song and it’s the title track of ‘The Dirt’ that functions well as an opener for this soundtrack.

Mötley Crüe  belongs to the spearheads of rock and their music influenced generations of rock bands. ‘The Dirt’ sums up all the great moments and with the addition of some new material the album becomes to a cool summary of almost four decades in rock.



  1. The Dirt (Est. 1981) (feat. Machine Gun Kelly)  
  2. Red Hot
  3. On With The Show
  4. Live Wire
  5. Merry-Go-Round
  6. Take Me To The ToP
  7. Piece Of Your Action
  8. Shout At The Devil
  9. Looks That Kill
  10. Too Young To Fall In Love    
  11. Home Sweet Home
  12. Girls, Girls, Girls
  13. Same Ol’ Situation (S.O.S.)
  14. Kickstart My Heart
  15. Dr. Feelgood
  16. Ride With The Devil
  17. Crash And Burn
  18. Like A Virgin

Label: Eleven Seven Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: March 22nd, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: