(9/10) Is it Death Metal? Is it Power Metal? Does it matter? Children Of Bodom can’t be put in a certain labelled box. The five Finns create metal that bridges many metal styles. The only thing that counts is that their music is relevant and this can be clearly answered with a ‘Yes’.

The fact that the band is very successful since more than 25 years, with nine full-length albums in their musical backpack, shows a constant interest in Children Of Bodom’s music. While the first two albums set the foundation for success and it was the legendary ‘Follow the Reaper’ that established the powerhouse as a constant player in metal.

2019 is the year of the band’s 10th studio album. It’s entitled ‘Hexed’ and it has the potential to put a spell on you. 45 minutes of exquisite music is what Alexi Laiho and bandmates add to their offer, spread out over eleven terrific songs.

A typical trademark of Children Of Bodom’s sound is the heaviness that’s in line with melodies, strengthened by Janne Wirman’s keyboard. Although the keyboards are a constant factor since the beginning, it feel like them getting more to the forefront on “Hexed’. They stand out a bit more than on some of the earlier records and add to a partly ‘80s metal inspired sound that manifests itself in songs like ‘Hecate’s Nightmare’.

Furthermore it’s the furious opener ‘This Road’ that powers right away and the speedster ‘Kick in a Spleen’ is a fascinating metal anthem also, not to forget the title track with its great chorus shouts. Catchy keyboards and harsh vocals interact perfectly on ‘Relapse (The Nature of My Crime)’ while it’s the known ‘Knuckleduster’ that finishes off a well-crafted metal album. ‘Knuckleduster’ was already part of the 2004 EP ‘Trashed, Lost and Strungout’ and got a full working-over. Laiho describes it as Alice Cooper meets death metal, which I think nails it.

‘Hexed’ is the wicked new Children Of Bodom album and the anticipated new strike fans were waiting for. If you’re a fan of this band you will like their newest delivery and if you missed the band up till now, it’s this album that will close the gap.



  1. This Road
  2. Under Grass and Clover
  3. Glass Houses
  4. Hecate’s Nightmare
  5. Kick In a Spleen
  6. Platitudes and Barren Words
  7. Hexed
  8. Relapse (The Nature of My Crime)
  9. Say Never Look Back
  10. Soon Departed
  11. Knuckleduster

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Melodic Death Metal

Release Date EU: March 8th, 2019



Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑