CD review MYRKUR ‘Juniper’ 7″

(*/10) Amalie Bruun, better known as Myrkur, releases on December 7th a new EP. The release comprises of two songs – ‘Juniper’ and ‘Bonden og Kragen’. Myrkur joined forces with Jaime Gomez Arellano (Ghost, Paradise Lost) with the result of a great new song.

The very atmospheric track spreads the typical Myrkur melancholia. The calmer kept verse explodes in the chorus when things get bombastic. Myrkur spares some black metal elements, which make the track, compared to some earlier releases, less extreme. What stays though is the intensity.

The second track is entitled ‘Bonden og Kragen’ and is Myrkur’s interpretation of Danish folk song from 1600’s. Although the track has nothing to so with metal it fits perfect to Myrkur and to the context of her music. 

‘Juniper’ is the perfect appetizer for a new full-length album by Myrkur. It’s exciting to see and hear her evolving her sound with every new release. Myrkyr’s journey in music just started and already impresses.



  1. Juniper
  2. Bonden og Kragen

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Folk Metal

Release Date EU: December 7th, 2018

On Facebook

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: