CD review THE RAGGED SAINTS ‘Sonic Playground Revisited’

After having been on a hiatus for a while Finnish hard rockers The Ragged Saints are back with a next album they add to their discography. ‘Sonic Playground Revisited’ is the title of the new delivery that brings a lot of ‘80s Hard Rock spirit to your place.

The Finnish quintet picks it up where they left off with ‘The Sound of Breaking Free’. 10 new songs revitalize a time when bands like Ratt and Whitesnake had a heyday period, a time when rocking guitars and solid melodies fused to a catchy sound that attracted right away.

‘Never Gonna Let You Down’, the opener is the perfect example for a travel back in time. A strong guitar sound and catchy keyboards unit to a powerful beginning that finds its continuation with melodic vocals lines in the verse of the song. Towards the chorus things build up and it’s the positive vibe that catches you right away.

The best moments on the album are the ones when the guys push the pedal. ‘Secret in Our Hearts’ is such an song with a rock solid drive and slowly rolling ‘Absence of Light’ could come from ’80s Sunset Strip scene, for sure when talking about the verse.

‘Sonic Playground Revisited’ is a generally light-hearted album that spreads positivism at first place. Songs like ‘Supernatural’ are actually musical sunrays, making your life warmer. Ballads like ‘Just Believe’ are probably needed on such a release and the fact that the guys weaved in a blistering guitar solo makes the ice melt.

‘Sonic Playground Revisited’ brings some musical color into a grey winter season. It might be that you miss some vitamin D due to a lack of sunlight, but at least you will get some ‘vitamin rock’ with this album, which helps to bridge the months until spring breaks through.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Never Gonna Let Me Down
  2. Like a Spinning Wheel
  3. Take Me With You
  4. Secret in our Hearts
  5. Just Believe
  6. Absence of Light
  7. Always Forever
  8. Pretending Diamonds
  9. Turning Cold
  10. Supernatural

Label: AOR Heaven

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: January 31st, 2020


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: