CD review TEN ‘Illuminati​’

(7/10) A bit more than a year ago, Ten released with ‘Gothica’ their latest album. It’s a good one that showcased a band being back on track after having released the average “Isle De Muerta’. Beginning of November this year Gary Hughes and band mates return with their next strike, an album entitled ‘Illuminati’.

Ten developed their sound and trademarks over more than 20 years and fine-tune it with every new release. ‘Illuminati’ doesn’t make an expectation and what you get with the 10 songs is exactly what you can expect. Well-crafted rock songs with big melodies and tasteful hooks is what the newest Ten album delivers. If this means a great continuation of Ten’s sound or a stagnation, is something everybody needs to answer him-/herself. I have to say though that some more edges would have been like an extra spice to the total. The ten songs are well-written, but also got a bit too much polish.

‘Illuminati’ is a solid melodic rock album. Although it fully lives up to expectation, this new record can’t compete with the classics like ‘Spellbound’ and ‘Stormwarning’. ‘Illuminati’ is about good, but also predictable rock music.





  1. Be As You Are Forever
  2. Shield Wall
  3. The Esoteric Ocean
  4. Jericho
  5. Rosetta Stone 
  6. Illuminati
  7. Heaven And The Holier-Than-Thou
  8. Exile
  9. Mephistopheles
  10. Of Battles Lost And Won


Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: November 9th, 2018

Comments are closed.

A Website.

Up ↑